Cocoa-Pumpkin Oat Pancakes= Heaven.

Pumpkin in July.

Yes, it is true. What can I say, I love pumpkin. And I love the fall. So why not bring a little bit of fall into the summer?

Last year my pumpkin crush lasted from August- December. This year, I am starting a month early. It is doubtful I will end a month early. It usually takes me about 5 months to get sick of pumpkin. A few months off, then the cravings begin again. mmmmmmmmmmmmmm, love that stuff.

For the past year, I have really enjoyed waking up 20 minutes earlier than normal to make a hot breakfast. I love carbs and have organized my diet so that I can eat them. I eat carbs in the morning and slowly ween off and try to eat no carbs at dinner time. Unless of course I make an amazing loaf of sourdough bread, like I did last night.

I digress, back to breakfast….. with the summer off, I have had more time to get more creative with these hot breakfasts (seems like there should be a better plural form of breakfast. Like break-fi).

I have been on a pumpkin french toast kick, until I woke up, made the french toast “soak,” and realized the hubby consumed the last bread slices. Quick thinking allowed me to add some oats, whole wheat flour, and heck, why not add a little cocoa powder, and turn it into a pancake.

Final product? Deeeelish.

Image

Image

The crustless quiche pictured was dinner last night. It served as great leftovers for breakfast!

Recipe for Cocoa-Pumpkin Oat Pancake

1 egg

1 tbps vanilla

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp nutmeg

1/4 cup of milk/almond milk/rice milk

1/4 cup of rolled oats

1/4 cup of whole wheat flour

Mix batter and make in a buttered pan!

Makes 4 small, but delicious pancakes.

Recipe for Crustless Quiche

5 Eggs

1/4 cup of milk

1 tbsp blue cheese

1 tbsp goat cheese

1 zucchinni, quartered and chopped

1 onion, diced

2 jalepenos, diced

1 green or red pepper (optional)

Grease a pie pan and bake for 35-45 minutes at 375!

3 thoughts on “Cocoa-Pumpkin Oat Pancakes= Heaven.

Leave a Reply

