my first loaf. (sourdough bread obsessed)

I did it!

I made my first loaf of bread. I even did a “no-knead” bread. I love being out of school. I have time to look up recipes and plan amazing breakfasts and dinners.  I have never been impressed with lunch.  Anyway.

I was surprised at how “hands off” the bread making process was. Mix a few things together and then just sit and wait. It does take some advanced planning, but it is well worth it!

It was perfectly dough-y, yet airy. It came out of the oven with a beautifully brown, crispy crust and warm, gooey, yet firm, inside. Obsessed! Image

Recipe for “no-knead” Sourdough Bread- adapted from Nourished Kitchen

1 cup sourdough starter

3 1/2 cups flour (whole grain or sprouted-preferred)

1/2 cup filtered water

semolina or corn meal for dusting baking pan

1. Mix first 3 ingredients in a large, glass bowl.

2. Leave in warm place in house, covered with paper towel or cheese cloth for 12 hours.

3. After 12 hours, fold dough over, twice, on itself and allow to rise 2-4 more hours (until doubled).

4. Place flour on your hands and workspace and shape into desired loaf. Let rise 2 more hours. The less you handle, the better.

5. Set a baking dish, with 1-2 cups of hot water at the bottom of your oven. Set your baking stone on the middle rack. Preheat your oven to 450.

6. Sprinkle the stone with corn  meal or semolina and place your loaf on the baking dish in the oven, and quickly close.

7. Bake for approx. 45 min.

8. Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “my first loaf. (sourdough bread obsessed)

Leave a Reply

