Blueberry (with sprinkled cacao) Steel Cut Oats

Another obsession has landed.

Steel cut oats. 

For me, oatmeal is very similar to going into an icecream parlor…or my new OTHER obsession…fro-yo!!… and sprinkling it with whatever toppings you want.

Since fruit is my new candy, I stuck with the natural topping option..blueberries…a small sprinkling of brown sugar…milk (used almond milk here)…and why not hadd a few shavings of cacao?? Deelish.  Add a side of eggs, and call it a day.

Have I mentioned how much love breakfast.

Best.Meal.of. The.Day.

I know I need to enjoy the moment, but holy cow, I can’t wait until tomorrow morning.

(and yes, I could make breakfast for dinner, but it isn’t the same for me. Don’t get me wrong, I still enjoy it. But totally different)

Recipe for Steel Cut Oats

1 cup steel cut oats

2 cups water

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup heavy cream-(i just used 2% milk- I am sure any dairy or non-dairy product would do)

Directions:

Bring water and oats to a boil. Add salt and cream. Cook 17-18 miutes, stirring.

(If you don’t keep up with the stirring, you will end up with a nice oat crust on the bottom of your pan. But it is easily removable with water and soap. I may or may not know from experience 🙂 )

2 thoughts on “Blueberry (with sprinkled cacao) Steel Cut Oats

  1. this post cracked me up – i am constantly wishing it were breakfast time more often. i think there’s also something to the fact that when it’s breakfast time, you have a whole day ahead of you, full of possibilities…that makes the food twice as delicious. expecially if it’s oatmeal 🙂

Leave a Reply

