Peanut Butter Banana Chia-Oat Pancake

Oh hey longest pancake title ever.

I just couldn’t shorten it- I couldn’t leave out one component. Not one.

Each one was dependent on the other to create the world’s most perfect peanut butter pancake.

My husband was up early this morning and last night I decided I would get up and make him breakfast.

So he got up and headed straight to the shower, and I was…well…..still in bed.

10 minutes later my snooze went off and I shot out of bed, ran to the kitchen, and started throwing some sort of pancake together.

With no time to waste (or taste), I quickly mixed up some sort of batter, heated the pan, and was flipping them on to plates as he walked in.

(reality check- I was actually just pouring the batter into the pan when he walked in… but I’d like to think I had them ready in time. I even had him make is eggs because I was so pancake focused).

Luckily for me, these cakes in a pan turned out to be UH-MAZE-ING.

The best parts? PB2 and Chia seeds. Stay posted for a blog post about each of these later this afternoon.

There was just enough peanut butter flavor that forced the pancake to melt in your mouth so perfectly you may still think you are sleeping.

Add in peanut butter’s best friends: bananas and oats, and this recipe really couldn’t have gone wrong.

Finally, the ingredient from left field, chia seeds! A great, heart healthy source of Omega-3s (again, more later!) They added a perfect, minuscule burst of crunch. Love, love, love chia seeds in pancakes. Obsessed.

Recipe:

1/2 cup rolled oats

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 cup PB2

1 cup vanilla almond milk (or any other dairy option)

1 egg

1 tsp chia seeds

1 banana, sliced

Directions:

Combine the first 4 ingredients. Add in milk and egg. Then stir in chia seeds and bananas. Remember, the less you stir pancake batter, the better! Just stir until things are blended!  Heat skillet to medium heat, grease, and serve up the best peanut butter banana chia-oat pancakes you have ever had in your life.

 

Leave a Reply

