Rosemary White Bean Soup

No matter where I go, you can always bet there will be a cookbook or health book within 5 feet. I bring them with me, everywhere I go, hoping to thumb through it for 10 minutes here, 10 minutes there.  It usually never happens when I am on the go…only when I am able to sit down, and relax (and be sure my kitchen counters are clean- huge pet peeve).

Usually, Nick and I travel every weekend. This weekend, we stayed around town. It allowed both of us to get a lot of work done…including my recipe finding/experimenting.

It was a beautiful weekend…full of sunshine, crisp air, and leaves floating to the ground. As I was flipping through a cookbook, outside, amongst the falling leaves (titled “Modern Vegetarian”), one soup stood out.

I offer a slight modification, for various reasons, 1 of them being, I added meat. Feel free to modify to your liking.

Ingredients:

2 cups dried Great Northern Beans rinsed and soaked, or 2 cans of northern beans (if you want to skip the soaking)

6 cups cold water

1 bay leaf

1 stalk of celery, diced

2 onions, thinly sliced

2-3 garlic cloves, minced

1 tbsp finely chopped fresh rosemary

2 tbsp jalapeno, diced (optional)

2 tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice

Coarse sea salt

Black pepper

Directions:

1. If using dry beans, see Bean Soaking Post.

2. After you have soaked your beans, or if you are using canned beans, combine all ingredients in a pot and simmer for 45 minutes-1 hour. Add salt and pepper to taste.

4. While the soup is simmering, cook the meat (and the Jalapeno corn bread :)).

5. After the soup is finished simmering, remove the bay leaf, and top with meat of choice (or not), and garnish with a fresh herb ( fresh rosemary, green onion, etc.).

I highly recommend the sausage pictured here- deelish!

Cheers and happy evolving!

One thought on “Rosemary White Bean Soup

  1. Pingback: Jalapeno Corn Bread |

Leave a Reply

