Basal Evolution Challenge Week #10

Halfway through the challenge- hard to believe!

It is my hope, during this journey, this challenge, that you have learned something. Something that has helped you change your ways for the better, something that will help you evolve into a healthier being, and family. Everything I have been hearing has confirmed this in some way or another. It has been awesome. Thanks for your awesome support and involvement, keep up the good work!

The Basal Evolution Challenge for Week #10 is to  focus on your meat’s labels/background (which is funny for the reason I will later share).  Try to purchase meat that has a label of grass-fed, organic, and/or antibiotic/hormone free.

Obviously one of the above labels is better than none. All three would be ideal, but difficult to find. There are also different labels of different types of meats!

This not only avoids supporting factory farm animals (to some extent), but  more importantly, provides a better, healthier piece of meat. More research/answers to come.

 

Quick story about me:

As I said earlier, this weeks challenge is funny and ironic because of the story below. I will tell you a challenge that I started on Sunday… on top of this Basal Evolution Challenge (so many challenges!).

My mom is in a job transition …on Sunday, she arrived in “Yogaville” (yes that is really the name of the place). She is on her way to obtaining her yoga instructor certification.  I couldn’t be more proud. She chose to do a month long residency program, where she will be working hard from 6 a.m.-9 p.m. 6 days a week, her only day off is Sunday. Not only will she be doing and learning yoga, but also learning about nutrition, instructing, and the human body. On top of all of that, she will be eating a vegetarian diet.

She was a little concerned about this, as we have always eaten meat. Since I will not be able to talk to my mom everyday (as usual), I told her that I would love to go vegetarian with her, for the month, not only to show support and be connected in that way, but also to try out new recipes for my blog. I have slowly been transitioning during the month of October….a vegetarian meal here and there.

At first it was strange, as my whole life, I have always thought that you “need meat” with every meal. Until I started reading more about nutrition, animal protein, vegetarian protein sources, etc., my “meat eating” bubble was burst. I am not ready to make the 100% vegetarian leap just yet….I suppose we will see how this month goes…but I am interested to see how I feel during this next month. I am continuing to read/research on this topic…will keep you posted. 🙂

Also, I will let you know where I get my first burger on November 21st :).  Ends just in time to enjoy Tom the Turkey (if I even want turkey by then!).

 

remember your two options for your evolution challenge:

A is the easiest. Pick and choose as you go. B is the path to the prize.

A) Read the post and put the suggested practice into action! Pick the ones you want to use and ignore the ones you don’t!

If you would like to participate for the “final prize” you will need to start racking up the points through your use of…

“likes. shares. posts” 

B) 1.”like” (+1) the “Basal Challenge” of the week on facebook to encourage others to try it as well.

2. “share” (+1) the “Basal Challenge” of the week on facebook to encourage others to try it as well.

3. post a picture (+1)  and a  few words (+1) about your “challenge” experience (on facebook). For example, if the challenge was to “cook more vegetables for dinner this week,” a picture of your dinner plate that has “more vegetables” and a brief summary would count as +2! Individually, a picture or a few words is +1 a piece. You CAN post multiple pictures and/or descriptions during the week (i.e. one weekly challenge can earn you more than 4 points if you post multiple pictures for one challenge. Be sure to relate each picture to the challenge in some way).

If you don’t want to post on facebook, an email with a few words about the challenge (to basalevolution@gmail.com) will be fine and count (+1), as well!

Option B confirms that you participated in the challenge and helps spread the news to others.

The person that likedshared, and posted the most challenges…and ultimately has the most points… will win “the prize!”

Cheers and happy evolving!

2 thoughts on “Basal Evolution Challenge Week #10

  1. Pingback: Benefits of Grass-Fed and Pasture-Raised Animals |

  2. Pingback: Basal Evolution Challenge #11 |

Leave a Reply

