Easy Crockpot Tortilla Soup

A delicious recipe I found online here.

It got great reviews and I decided to give it a shot. Glad I did! It was delicious. The best part is that most of it was prepared the night before. All I did was dump final ingredients together the morning of, and came home to a house filled with tortilla soup aromas!

IMG_8259

Ingredients:

*try to find BPA free cans 🙂 see here to learn why (and companies that produce these cans).

1 can (15 oz) peeled whole tomatoes, chopped

1 can (10 oz)  enchillada sauce

1 medium onion, chopped

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1 can corn

1 can black beans

1 can (4 oz) green chiles

1 tsp cumin

3 cans (14 oz)  chicken/veggie broth

2 frozen chicken breasts (optional for those going vegetarian)

chopped cilantro, for topping (optional)

diced onions, for topping (optional)

shredded cheese, for topping (optional)

avocado, chopped for topping (optional)

tortilla chips, crushed for topping (optional)

Directions:

1. Since I wake up early, I mixed some ingredients together in a glass bowl the night before. I then added everything together in  the crockpot in the morning.

IMG_8249

2. Since it was 5:45 a.m. when I made this, I was a little out of it and forgot to take a picture of the ingredients in the crockpot! I just dumped everything in, mixed it together, and set it on low from 6 a.m. until 5 p.m. According to the recipe that I found online, it only needs to cook for 6-8 hours on low or 3-4 hours on high.  My soup turned out just fine cooking for 11 hours 🙂

3. I put two frozen chicken breasts in the crockpot and just took a fork to them and shredded them up when I got home from work. It was very tender and perfect!

This tortilla soup is seriously some of the best tortilla soup I have ever had. The best part is that it is SO easy!

Some optional toppings….

IMG_8259

IMG_8267

IMG_8261

cheers and happy evolving!

Leave a Reply

