White Bean Dip with Cilantro

Last night was “appetizer night” with the girls….I have been swamped with work recently….so I needed something that I could make with the items in my pantry….something simple, quick, easily transportable, yet still healthy.  After perusing my pantry….I first thought of hummus. Then, I realized I only had 1 can. That wouldn’t work.

So I moved to the next beans.  I found 2 cans of cannellini beans.

White bean dip. Perfect!

I found a few recipes online, added and took away a few things, and came up with the recipe below 🙂

While hummus usually tastes better the day after…I recommend serving this dip the day it is made.  The lemon flavor bursts when served immediately. The day after, the dip is still amazing, but the lemon gets a little lost.

Regardless, this dip is so easy, delicious, and healthy!

IMG_9321

Ingredients:

2 cans of white beans (I used cannellini beans), rinsed and drained

2 cloves of garlic

1/4 cup olive oil

juice of 1/2 a sliced lemon

1 tsp lemon zest

1/4 cup cilantro, coarsely chopped (optional)

1 tsp red pepper flakes, more or less to taste

salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

1. Drain and rinse beans.

IMG_9303

2. Mince the garlic in the food processor.

IMG_9307

3. Add the beans, lemon zest, lemon juice, and olive oil.

IMG_9308

4. Salt, pepper, and red pepper flake, to taste.

IMG_9311

5. Add coarsely chopped cilantro. Stir.

IMG_9312

6. Sprinkle with more coarsely chopped cilantro, fresh olive oil, salt and pepper.

IMG_9315

IMG_9321

Enjoy with carrot, pita bread, pita chips, naan, on top of salad….the choices are endless!

cheers and happy evolving!

4 thoughts on “White Bean Dip with Cilantro

Leave a Reply

