Open Face Tomato, Jalapeno, and Gouda Sandwich

IMG_1249

When my brother and I were little, my mom would always make us open face tomato sandwiches for an after school snack, or a quick and easy dinner.

They definitely take me back to wonderful family memories, sitting around the dinner table, laughing, and talking about our days at school.

After traveling last weekend, I came home to a house with a hungry belly. I was craving something quick, yet delicious.

I opened the fridge and spied some bread, tomatoes, and cheese…..instant childhood flashback.

But I wanted a little more jazz…..so begins the life of the OFTJGS.

This open face is a little more “grown-up” if you will… with the Gouda, basil, and jalapeno.  I had an avocado to serve up as well, but it wasn’t ripe yet. 😦 An avocado would definitely be an added bonus and highly recommended.

If you aren’t feeling like a “grown-up” ….free to keep it simple and retro it back to the simple days of my childhood with just regular cheddar cheese and tomato!

Ingredients:

Slice of bread (prefer sprouted)

Slice of tomato

Fresh jalapeno, sliced

Cheese (I used Gouda, but any cheese would be delicious)

Fresh Basil

Directions: 

1. Pretty simple and self explanatory here!

IMG_1239

IMG_1240

2. Bake at 350 degrees for 5-7 minutes, then broil for 2-3 minutes, or until cheese is golden brown!

IMG_1244

3. Top with fresh basil.

IMG_1247

IMG_1249

I adore you, Mr. Open Face TJGS.

Cheers and happy evolving.

2 thoughts on “Open Face Tomato, Jalapeno, and Gouda Sandwich

  1. That brother of yours made this the other day (probably more like a month ago, but same-same)! He did the simple retro version & I thought it was strange & adorable!!! This post made me smile.

Leave a Reply

